News Masters

32 teams in 32 days — Day 30: Team Koana

We’re profiling 32 teams — one per day — as we get ready for the start of the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season at the Masters.

Day 30: Team Koana

Lineup: Tori Koana (skip), Yuna Kotani (third), Mao Ishigaki (second), Arisa Kotani (lead)

Hometown: Fujiyoshida, Japan

Team Koana will make their Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling debut at the Masters.

Koana has skipped and thrown last rocks since the 2017-18 season. She skipped prior to that but threw either third or second stones. Koana captured the Japanese women’s curling championship during 2017-18 and competed at the 2018 world championship in North Bay, Ontario. The team missed the playoffs with a 5-7 round-robin record.

Yuna Kotani has played with Koana since 2014 starting as an alternate. She moved up a position each season until settling at third in 2017. Ishigaki came on board at lead in 2016 and switched to second the following year when Arisa Kotani joined.

The Masters kicks off the 2021-22 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season and runs Tuesday through to Sunday at Sixteen Mile Sports Complex in Oakville, Ontario. Full event and weekend passes plus single draw tickets are now available, CLICK HERE to purchase yours today.

Can’t make it to Oakville? Tune to Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW (Canada) or Yare (international) for live broadcast coverage starting Thursday at 11 a.m. ET.

32 teams in 32 days

Missed a day in our 32 teams in 32 days profile series? Get all caught up below.

Day 1: Team Hasselborg

Day 2: Team Jacobs

Day 3: Team Einarson

Day 4: Team Epping

Day 5: Team Fleury

Day 6: Team Mouat

Day 7: Team Tirinzoni

Day 8: Team Gushue

Day 9: Team Jones

Day 10: Team McEwen

Day 11: Team Homan

Day 12: Team Bottcher

Day 13: Team Gunnlaugson

Day 14: Team Fujisawa

Day 15: Team Paterson

Day 16: Team Rocque

Day 17: Team Koe

Day 18: Team Peterson

Day 19: Team Dunstone

Day 20: Team Kovaleva

Day 21: Team Schwaller

Day 22: Team M. Kim

Day 23: Team Ruohonen

Day 24: Team E. Kim

Day 25: Team de Cruz

Day 26: Team Wrana

Day 27: Team Edin

Day 28: Team Yoshimura

Day 29: Team Matsumura