News Masters

32 Teams in 32 Days — Day 22: Team Min-Ji Kim

We’re profiling 32 teams — one per day — as we get ready for the start of the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season at the Masters.

Day 22: Team Min-Ji Kim

Lineup: Min-Ji Kim (skip), Seung-Youn Ha (third), Hye-Rin Kim (second), Su-Jin Kim (lead), Tae-I Yang (alternate)

Hometown: Chuncheon, South Korea

Team Kim had a breakout season in 2018-19. They won the Pacific-Asia women’s championship to secure a spot for the 2019 Champions Cup in Saskatoon where they made their Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling debut. Kim also earned silver at the Winter Universiade and bronze at the world championship during the year.

Team Kim captured the 2019 KIOTI Tractor Tour Challenge Tier 2 women’s title in Pictou County, N.S., to earn a promotion back into the top ranks of the GSOC at the 2020 Meridian Canadian Open in Yorkton, Sask. They lost their first couple games to fall into the C Event and, with elimination on the line, rolled off three consecutive wins over Team Rocque, Team Homan and Team Muirhead to qualify for the playoffs. Kim kept the sensational streaking rolling upsetting top-seed Team Einarson in the quarterfinals and dispatching Team Kovaleva in the semifinals to face Team Hasselborg for the championship. Kim forced the final into an extra end, however, Team Hasselborg prevailed 7-5 to capture their third consecutive Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling women’s title on the season.

Still eligible for juniors, Team Kim picked up silver at the 2020 world junior championships.

The Masters kicks off the 2021-22 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season and runs Oct. 19-24 at Sixteen Mile Sports Complex in Oakville, Ontario. Full event and weekend passes plus single draw tickets are now available, CLICK HERE to purchase yours today.

Can’t make it to Oakville? Tune to Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW for live broadcast coverage. Broadcast schedule to be announced.

32 teams in 32 days

Missed a day in our 32 teams in 32 days profile series? Get all caught up below.

Day 1: Team Hasselborg

Day 2: Team Jacobs

Day 3: Team Einarson

Day 4: Team Epping

Day 5: Team Fleury

Day 6: Team Mouat

Day 7: Team Tirinzoni

Day 8: Team Gushue

Day 9: Team Jones

Day 10: Team McEwen

Day 11: Team Homan

Day 12: Team Bottcher

Day 13: Team Gunnlaugson

Day 14: Team Fujisawa

Day 15: Team Paterson

Day 16: Team Rocque

Day 17: Team Koe

Day 18: Team Peterson

Day 19: Team Dunstone

Day 20: Team Kovaleva

Day 21: Team Schwaller