News Masters

32 Teams in 32 Days — Day 18: Team Peterson

We’re profiling 32 teams — one per day — as we get ready for the start of the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season at the Masters.

Day 18: Team Peterson

Lineup: Tabitha Peterson (skip), Nina Roth (third), Becca Hamilton (second), Tara Peterson (lead), Aileen Geving (alternate)

Home Club: Chaska Curling Center; Chaska, Minnesota

Tabitha Peterson moved up from third to skip during the 2019-20 season when Roth took time off for maternity leave.

Peterson had a remarkable run on tour as interim skip, particularly in the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling. Her team went 4-0 through pool play in the KIOTI Tractor Tour Challenge (Tier 1), edged Team Jones in the quarterfinals but lost to eventual champions Team Hasselborg in the semifinals. The team was perfect again in preliminary play at the Meridian Canadian Open going 3-0 through the triple knockout including a victory over Hasselborg in the A-qualifiers to advance. Peterson’s run ended in the quarterfinals with a loss to Team Fujisawa.

Team Peterson lost just once during the 2020 USA curling national championships in Spokane, Washington — to Team Sinclair in round-robin play — but avenged the defeat in the Page playoff and took the rubber match in the final to win the title.

Roth, who returned to the team at third last season, skipped the squad at the 2018 Winter Olympic Games in Pyeongchang, South Korea, and finished in a four-way tie for fifth place with a 4-5 round-robin record. It was a double Olympics for Hamilton as she also competed in the mixed doubles event with her brother, Matt Hamilton.

Team Peterson would have to wait to represent the United States again at the world championship and didn’t disappoint in the bubble event in May defeating Sweden’s Team Hasselborg 9-5 in the bronze medal match to finish on the podium.

The Masters kicks off the 2021-22 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season and runs Oct. 19-24 at Sixteen Mile Sports Complex in Oakville, Ontario. Full event and weekend passes plus single draw tickets are now available, CLICK HERE to purchase yours today.

Can’t make it to Oakville? Tune to Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW for live broadcast coverage. Broadcast schedule to be announced.

32 teams in 32 days

Missed a day in our 32 teams in 32 days profile series? Get all caught up below.

Day 1: Team Hasselborg

Day 2: Team Jacobs

Day 3: Team Einarson

Day 4: Team Epping

Day 5: Team Fleury

Day 6: Team Mouat

Day 7: Team Tirinzoni

Day 8: Team Gushue

Day 9: Team Jones

Day 10: Team McEwen

Day 11: Team Homan

Day 12: Team Bottcher

Day 13: Team Gunnlaugson

Day 14: Team Fujisawa

Day 15: Team Paterson

Day 16: Team Rocque

Day 17: Team Koe