News Masters

32 Teams in 32 Days — Day 11: Team Homan

We’re profiling 32 teams — one per day — as we get ready for the start of the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season at the Masters.

Day 11: Team Homan

Lineup: Rachel Homan (skip), Emma Miskew (third), Sarah Wilkes (second), Joanne Courtney (lead)

Home club: Ottawa Curling Club; Ottawa

Homan has won a record 11 women’s titles in the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling series. Team Homan’s first came at the 2012 Masters in Brantford, Ontario, which was also the first year the event was expanded to include a women’s division.

Team Homan has also won three consecutive GSOC women’s titles twice sweeping through the Masters, National and Canadian Open during the 2015-16 season and the Tour Challenge, National and Canadian Open during the 2018-19 season.

The team also played in the 2016 Elite 10 to make history as the first women’s team to compete in a GSOC men’s tournament since Sportsnet acquired the series in 2012.

Homan’s record-extending 11th title win came last season at the Champions Cup in the Calgary bubble. Homan had just returned from maternity leave after giving birth to daughter Bowyn just a few weeks prior. Team Homan finished with a 6-1 record including a 6-3 victory over world champions Team Tirinzoni in the final. They were also runners-up to Team Einarson in the Princess Auto Players’ Championship the following week.

Miskew has played alongside Homan since they were kids. Courtney joined the team at second in 2014 and shifted over to lead in 2020. Although Wilkes just joined the club this past season, she won the 2017 Champions Cup with the team while filling in for Courtney, who was away at the world mixed doubles championship that week.

The Masters kicks off the 2021-22 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season and runs Oct. 19-24 at Sixteen Mile Sports Complex in Oakville, Ontario. Tickets are now available, CLICK HERE to purchase yours today.

Can’t make it to Oakville? Tune to Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW for live broadcast coverage. Broadcast schedule to be announced.

32 teams in 32 days

Missed a day in our 32 teams in 32 days profile series? Get all caught up below.

Day 1: Team Hasselborg

Day 2: Team Jacobs

Day 3: Team Einarson

Day 4: Team Epping

Day 5: Team Fleury

Day 6: Team Mouat

Day 7: Team Tirinzoni

Day 8: Team Gushue

Day 9: Team Jones

Day 10: Team McEwen