News Masters

32 Teams in 32 Days — Day 13: Team Gunnlaugson

We’re profiling 32 teams — one per day — as we get ready for the start of the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season at the Masters.

Day 13: Team Gunnlaugson

Lineup: Jason Gunnlaugson (skip), Adam Casey (third), Matt Wozniak (second), Connor Njegovan (lead)

Hometown: Winnipeg

Team Gunnlaugson made their second consecutive appearance at the Tim Hortons Brier last season representing Manitoba. The 2020 provincial champions rattled off five consecutive wins to start the tournament and finished in the championship pool with a 6-6 record.

Wozniak, who joined Team Gunnlaugson ahead of the 2020-21 season, threw second stones for Mike McEwen previously and won seven Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling men’s titles. His first came at the Masters in 2010 when the event was known as the World Cup of Curling.

Casey, the team’s import from P.E.I., has competed in the Brier eight times representing four different provinces: Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Saskatchewan and Manitoba. Ryan Fry is the only other curler who has played for four different provinces in the Canadian men’s curling championship.

Team Gunnlaugson won the Tour Challenge Tier 2 men’s title in September 2017 to kickstart a breakout season in the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling. Gunnlaugson qualified for the playoffs in five of six events in the series following his team’s promotion. They competed in both Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling events last season in the bubble at the Champions Cup and Players’ Championship but fell short of qualifying for the playoffs.

The Masters kicks off the 2021-22 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season and runs Oct. 19-24 at Sixteen Mile Sports Complex in Oakville, Ontario. Full event and weekend passes plus single draw tickets are now available, CLICK HERE to purchase yours today.

Can’t make it to Oakville? Tune to Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW for live broadcast coverage. Broadcast schedule to be announced.

32 teams in 32 days

Missed a day in our 32 teams in 32 days profile series? Get all caught up below.

Day 1: Team Hasselborg

Day 2: Team Jacobs

Day 3: Team Einarson

Day 4: Team Epping

Day 5: Team Fleury

Day 6: Team Mouat

Day 7: Team Tirinzoni

Day 8: Team Gushue

Day 9: Team Jones

Day 10: Team McEwen

Day 11: Team Homan

Day 12: Team Bottcher