News Masters

32 Teams in 32 Days — Day 10: Team McEwen

We’re profiling 32 teams — one per day — as we get ready for the start of the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season at the Masters.

Day 10: Team McEwen

Lineup: Mike McEwen (skip), Reid Carruthers (third), Derek Samagalski (second), Colin Hodgson (lead).

Home club: West St. Paul Curling Club; West St. Paul, Manitoba

McEwen has won seven Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling men’s titles. His first came at the Masters, when it was known as the World Cup of Curling, in 2010 in Windsor, Ontario. McEwen needed a tiebreaker game to qualify for the playoffs and stole a point in the eighth end to edge Team Ulsrud 7-6 to advance. Team McEwen defeated Team Martin 8-3 in the quarterfinals, Team Fowler 7-2 in the semifinals and Team Stoughton 4-2 in the final to claim the championship.

McEwen earned a second Masters men’s title in 2015 posting a 6-1 record through the tournament in Truro, Nova Scotia. The team’s lone defeat game against Team Koe during pool play, which they avenged with a 5-4 victory during the semifinals. McEwen beat Team Cotter 5-3 in the championship game.

McEwen joined forces with his longtime friend Carruthers in 2018. Carruthers captured his first Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling men’s title as a skip — and second of his career — at the inaugural Humpty’s Champions Cup in 2016 in Sherwood Park, Alberta. Carruthers defeated Team Epping in the final after a rare second extra end.

Carruthers returned to calling the shots during the two Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling events in the Calgary bubble last season with McEwen away on paternity leave. Tyler Tardi filled in at third although Hodgson opted out of the events due to personal reasons and Carruthers, Tardi and Samagalski carried on as a trio. The team missed the playoffs in the Champions Cup, but they bounced back to make the semifinals of the Princess Auto Players’ Championship.

Team McEwen went 5-1 through the Canadian curling trials direct-entry event this past weekend to book a spot for the Olympic trials in November.

The Masters kicks off the 2021-22 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season and runs Oct. 19-24 at Sixteen Mile Sports Complex in Oakville, Ontario. Tickets are now available, CLICK HERE to purchase yours today.

Can’t make it to Oakville? Tune to Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW for live broadcast coverage. Broadcast schedule to be announced.

32 teams in 32 days

Missed a day in our 32 teams in 32 days profile series? Get all caught up below.

Day 1: Team Hasselborg

Day 2: Team Jacobs

Day 3: Team Einarson

Day 4: Team Epping

Day 5: Team Fleury

Day 6: Team Mouat

Day 7: Team Tirinzoni

Day 8: Team Gushue

Day 9: Team Jones