News Masters

32 Teams in 32 Days — Day 27: Team Edin

We’re profiling 32 teams — one per day — as we get ready for the start of the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season at the Masters.

Day 26: Team Edin

Lineup: Niklas Edin (skip), Oskar Eriksson (third), Rasmus Wranå (second), Christoffer Sundgren (lead)

Home Club: Karlstads CK; Karlstad, Sweden

Edin won his record fifth world championship gold medal and third in a row during the 2021 men’s event in the Calgary bubble. Eriksson also has five golds having served as the alternate for Edin at the 2013 world championship. Altogether, Edin has won eight medals (five gold, one silver and two bronze) in 10 appearances at the worlds. He is also an eight-time gold medallist at the European Championships.

Edin earned bronze at the 2014 Winter Olympic Games in Sochi, Russia, and he formed a new team the following season with Eriksson, Sundgren and Kristian Lindström at second.

Wranå replaced Lindström at second in 2016 and helped the team reach new heights in the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling. Team Edin became the first non-Canadian men’s team to win a title in the series when they captured the 2016 Masters in Okotoks, Alberta. Edin made it two in a row just a fortnight later when his team also claimed the 2016 Tour Challenge in Cranbrook, B.C. Team Edin made it three on the season winning the 2017 Players’ Championship and secured the Pinty’s Cup as the overall champions in the series.

Team Edin were quarterfinalists in both Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling events in the Calgary bubble last season.

Edin, who earned silver at the 2018 Pyeongchang Games, is slated to represent Sweden in a fourth consecutive Winter Olympics at the 2022 Beijing Games. It’ll be double duty for Eriksson, who will also compete in the mixed doubles tournament with Almida de Val.

The Masters kicks off the 2021-22 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season and runs Tuesday through to the following Sunday at Sixteen Mile Sports Complex in Oakville, Ontario. Full event and weekend passes plus single draw tickets are now available, CLICK HERE to purchase yours today.

Can’t make it to Oakville? Tune to Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW (Canada) or Yare (international) for live broadcast coverage beginning Thursday at 11 a.m. ET.

32 teams in 32 days

Missed a day in our 32 teams in 32 days profile series? Get all caught up below.

Day 1: Team Hasselborg

Day 2: Team Jacobs

Day 3: Team Einarson

Day 4: Team Epping

Day 5: Team Fleury

Day 6: Team Mouat

Day 7: Team Tirinzoni

Day 8: Team Gushue

Day 9: Team Jones

Day 10: Team McEwen

Day 11: Team Homan

Day 12: Team Bottcher

Day 13: Team Gunnlaugson

Day 14: Team Fujisawa

Day 15: Team Paterson

Day 16: Team Rocque

Day 17: Team Koe

Day 18: Team Peterson

Day 19: Team Dunstone

Day 20: Team Kovaleva

Day 21: Team Schwaller

Day 22: Team M. Kim

Day 23: Team Ruohonen

Day 24: Team E. Kim

Day 25: Team de Cruz

Day 26: Team Wrana