News Masters

32 Teams in 32 Days — Day 23: Team Ruohonen

We’re profiling 32 teams — one per day — as we get ready for the start of the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season at the Masters.

Day 23: Team Ruohonen

Lineup: Rich Ruohonen (skip), Andrew Stopera (third), Colin Hufman (second), Kroy Nernberger (lead), Philip Tilker (alternate)

Hometown: Minneapolis, USA

Ruohonen is a two-time USA Curling national championships gold medallist winning in 2008 while playing third for Craig Brown and throwing third but skipping in 2018. He had just joined Tilker, Hufman and fourth Greg Persinger after the Olympic trials that season and represented the home side for the 2018 world championship in Las Vegas. They reached the qualification round losing 6-4 to Canada’s Team Gushue. Ruohonen is also a five-time silver medallist at the USA Curling national championships, most recently in 2020.

Stopera joined Team Ruohonen ahead of the 2020-21 season replacing Persinger at third. He won three consecutive USA Curling junior national championships from 2017-19 and earned silver at the world junior championships in 2017. Stopera also captured silver at the USA Curling mixed doubles national championship earlier this year with Madison Bear.

Hufman and Tilker have played together since 2015 and also won the USA Curling national championships gold medal with Brady Clark in 2016.

Team Ruohonen’s most recent Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling appearance was in the Tier 2 division of the 2019 KIOTI Tractor Tour Challenge in Pictou County, N.S., where they reached the quarter-finals.

The Masters kicks off the 2021-22 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season and runs Oct. 19-24 at Sixteen Mile Sports Complex in Oakville, Ontario. Full event and weekend passes plus single draw tickets are now available, CLICK HERE to purchase yours today.

Can’t make it to Oakville? Tune to Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW for live broadcast coverage. Broadcast schedule to be announced.

32 teams in 32 days

Missed a day in our 32 teams in 32 days profile series? Get all caught up below.

Day 1: Team Hasselborg

Day 2: Team Jacobs

Day 3: Team Einarson

Day 4: Team Epping

Day 5: Team Fleury

Day 6: Team Mouat

Day 7: Team Tirinzoni

Day 8: Team Gushue

Day 9: Team Jones

Day 10: Team McEwen

Day 11: Team Homan

Day 12: Team Bottcher

Day 13: Team Gunnlaugson

Day 14: Team Fujisawa

Day 15: Team Paterson

Day 16: Team Rocque

Day 17: Team Koe

Day 18: Team Peterson

Day 19: Team Dunstone

Day 20: Team Kovaleva

Day 21: Team Schwaller

Day 22: Team M. Kim