News Masters

32 Teams in 32 Days — Day 21: Team Schwaller

We’re profiling 32 teams — one per day — as we get ready for the start of the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season at the Masters.

Day 21: Team Schwaller

Lineup: Yannick Schwaller (skip), Michael Brunner (third), Romano Meier (second), Marcel Käufeler (lead)

Hometown: Bern, Switzerland

Team Schwaller earned silver for Switzerland at the European Championships and captured the Swiss curling championship during the 2019-20 season. The team did not get to represent Switzerland in the world championship, however, as the event was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. They finished runners-up to Team de Cruz in the national tournament last season.

Schwaller qualified for the playoffs for the first time in a Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling event at the 2020 Meridian Canadian Open in Yorkton, Saskatchewan, after making it through the C Event of the triple knockout. Brunner was practically perfect in the critical C-qualifying game against Team Koe shooting 98 per cent during the 7-4 victory. Team Schwaller’s run ended in the quarterfinals as they fell 6-1 to Team Gushue.

Team Schwaller competed in the two Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling events in the Calgary bubble last season. Schwaller just missed the playoffs in the Champions Cup losing 6-4 to Team Jacobs in a tiebreaker. They also missed the cut in the Princess Auto Players’ Championship finishing 2-3 in pool play.

Schwaller had a standout junior career capturing the world junior championship gold medal in 2014 and silver in 2015.

The Masters kicks off the 2021-22 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season and runs Oct. 19-24 at Sixteen Mile Sports Complex in Oakville, Ontario. Full event and weekend passes plus single draw tickets are now available, CLICK HERE to purchase yours today.

Can’t make it to Oakville? Tune to Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW for live broadcast coverage. Broadcast schedule to be announced.

32 teams in 32 days

Missed a day in our 32 teams in 32 days profile series? Get all caught up below.

Day 1: Team Hasselborg

Day 2: Team Jacobs

Day 3: Team Einarson

Day 4: Team Epping

Day 5: Team Fleury

Day 6: Team Mouat

Day 7: Team Tirinzoni

Day 8: Team Gushue

Day 9: Team Jones

Day 10: Team McEwen

Day 11: Team Homan

Day 12: Team Bottcher

Day 13: Team Gunnlaugson

Day 14: Team Fujisawa

Day 15: Team Paterson

Day 16: Team Rocque

Day 17: Team Koe

Day 18: Team Peterson

Day 19: Team Dunstone

Day 20: Team Kovaleva