News Masters

32 Teams in 32 Days — Day 17: Team Koe

We’re profiling 32 teams — one per day — as we get ready for the start of the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season at the Masters.

Day 17: Team Koe

Lineup: Kevin Koe (skip), B.J. Neufeld (third), John Morris (second), Ben Hebert (lead)

Home Club: The Glencoe Club; Calgary

Koe is a two-time world and four-time Canadian champion and represented Canada at the most recent Winter Olympic Games in Pyeongchang, South Korea, in 2018. He has won five titles in the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling including four as a skip. Koe’s first came while playing third for Morris at the 2004 Players’ Championship. His first as a skip came at the 2012 Masters after finishing runner-up three times in the event previously.

Morris has captured Olympic gold twice for Canada winning in 2010 with Kevin Martin’s team and in 2018 in mixed doubles with Kaitlyn Lawes. He has won a medal of every colour at the worlds, three Brier titles and 11 GSOC men’s championships. Morris linked back up with Koe in 2020.

Neufeld, the team’s import from Winnipeg, won seven GSOC men’s titles with Team McEwen. After they parted ways, Neufeld joined Team Koe in 2018.

Hebert also won Olympic gold alongside Morris on Team Martin in 2010 and returned to the Winter Games in 2018 with Team Koe. He has claimed two world and four Brier championships plus 12 GSOC men’s titles. Hebert came on board with Team Koe in 2014 after Martin announced his retirement.

Team Koe, as Wild Card Two, were runners-up to Alberta’s Team Bottcher at the Brier during the Calgary bubble last season. They also fell to Team Bottcher during the Champions Cup semifinals. Koe kicked off this season in the winner’s circle capturing the ATB Okotoks Classic this past weekend.

The Masters begins the 2021-22 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season and runs Oct. 19-24 at Sixteen Mile Sports Complex in Oakville, Ontario. Full event and weekend passes plus single draw tickets are now available, CLICK HERE to purchase yours today.

Can’t make it to Oakville? Tune to Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW for live broadcast coverage. Broadcast schedule to be announced.

32 teams in 32 days

Missed a day in our 32 teams in 32 days profile series? Get all caught up below.

Day 1: Team Hasselborg

Day 2: Team Jacobs

Day 3: Team Einarson

Day 4: Team Epping

Day 5: Team Fleury

Day 6: Team Mouat

Day 7: Team Tirinzoni

Day 8: Team Gushue

Day 9: Team Jones

Day 10: Team McEwen

Day 11: Team Homan

Day 12: Team Bottcher

Day 13: Team Gunnlaugson

Day 14: Team Fujisawa

Day 15: Team Paterson

Day 16: Team Rocque