News Canadian Open

Teams announced for 2017 Meridian Canadian Open

The Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling announced Wednesday the full list of teams for the 2017 Meridian Canadian Open, running Jan. 3-8, at the Civic Centre in North Battleford, Sask.

A total of 16 men’s teams and 16 women’s teams will compete in the third major and fourth event of the 2016-17 season.

Headlining the men’s side are world No. 1 ranked Brad Gushue of St. John’s, N.L.; recent Boost National victor Brad Jacobs of Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.; Canada Cup winner Reid Carruthers of Winnipeg; three-time defending Saskatchewan champion Steve Laycock of Saskatoon and more .

The women’s field features defending champ Rachel Homan of Ottawa; Canada Cup victor Jennifer Jones of Winnipeg; recent Boost National winner Kerri Einarson of East St. Paul, Man.; Scotties Tournament of Hearts champ Chelsea Carey of Calgary and more.

Tickets are now available for the Meridian Canadian Open, visit or call 306-445-7827 to purchase yours today.

Qualification for the Meridian Canadian Open was split between the World Curling Tour’s Order of Merit and Year-to-Date rankings as of Dec. 5. One spot for each division was reserved for Tour Challenge Tier 2 winners Greg Balsdon of Kingston, Ont., and Jacqueline Harrison of Mississauga, Ont. The Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling also held the option to implement a sponsor’s exemption and used it to include Saskatoon’s Bruce Korte for the men’s division. Click here for the full qualification breakdown.

The Meridian Canadian Open features a triple knockout format where teams must win three games before they lose three games during the preliminary round in order to qualify for one of eight playoff spots.

Toronto’s John Epping is the defending men’s champion and pitched a perfect game in last season’s final against Gushue. Meanwhile, Team Homan made history with their victory over Team Jones becoming the first women’s squad to win three consecutive Grand Slam titles in a season.

Teams also earn points towards the Rogers Grand Slam Cup, awarded to the season champions following the conclusion of the 2017 WestJet Players’ Championship.

Winners of the Meridian Canadian Open also qualify for the season-ending Humpty’s Champions Cup, running April 25-30, 2017, in Calgary.

Can’t make it to North Battleford? Sportsnet and CBC will have you covered, click here for the full TV schedule. Watch online with Sportsnet NOW, click here to subscribe today and get your first seven days free.

Below is the full field for the 2017 Meridian Canadian Open:


Team Hometown
Greg Balsdon* Kingston, ON
Brendan Bottcher Edmonton, AB
Reid Carruthers Winnipeg, MB
Niklas Edin Karlstad, SWE
John Epping Toronto, ON
Brad Gushue St. John’s, NL
Brad Jacobs Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Kevin Koe Calgary, AB
Bruce Korte** Saskatoon, SK
Steve Laycock Saskatoon, SK
Heath McCormick Blaine, USA
Mike McEwen Winnipeg, MB
John Morris Vernon, BC
John Shuster Duluth, USA
Kyle Smith Stirling, SCO
Charley Thomas Edmonton, AB


Team Hometown
Chelsea Carey Calgary, AB
Kerri Einarson East St. Paul, MB
Michelle Englot Winnipeg, MB
Allison Flaxey Caledon, ON
Tracy Fleury Sudbury, ON
Jacqueline Harrison* Mississauga, ON
Anna Hasselborg Sundbyberg, SWE
Rachel Homan Ottawa, ON
Jennifer Jones Winnipeg, MB
Briane Meilleur Winnipeg, MB
Kelsey Rocque Edmonton, AB
Casey Scheidegger Lethbridge, AB
Anna Sidorova Moscow, RUS
Val Sweeting Edmonton, AB
Silvana Tirinzoni Aarau, SUI
Bingyu Wang Harbin, CHN

* – Tour Challenge Tier 2 winners
** – Sponsor’s Exemption