Co-op Canadian Open Format and Qualification


The Co-op Canadian Open features 16 men’s teams and 16 women’s teams. Both divisions are split into four pools of four. Teams play four round-robin games: three against the other teams in their pool plus one crossover game.

The top eight teams overall qualify for the playoffs in both divisions. If necessary, tiebreaker games will be played to determine the final playoff spots.


The top 15 men’s and top 15 women’s teams based on the World Curling Federation’s world team ranking system will be invited to participate (qualification date for the 2024-25 Co-op Canadian Open to be determined). The 16th spot on each side is reserved for the winners of the HearingLife Tour Challenge Tier 2 event.

If a team in the top 15 declines their invitation, the next team on the WCF rankings will be invited until the field is complete.

The Grand Slam of Curling reserves the right to implement a sponsor’s exemption in both the men’s and women’s divisions in which one spot could be filled at their discretion.