News Champions Cup

Schedules set for Humpty’s Champions Cup, Princess Auto Players’ Championship

UPDATE: The Humpty’s Champions Cup will now start Thursday. Please CLICK HERE to read the latest news announcement.

Kerri Einarson will kick off her quest for a third consecutive title in the curling hub city at WinSport’s Canada Olympic Park in Calgary taking on Team Homan in next week’s opening draw of the Humpty’s Champions Cup.

The Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling announced Wednesday the draw and broadcast schedules for the Humpty’s Champions Cup, April 15-19, and the Princess Auto Players’ Championship, April 20-25.

Quick Links: Humpty’s Champions Cup draw schedule | Princess Auto Players’ Championship draw schedule | Broadcast schedule

Einarson, from Gimli, Man., aims to keep her winning streak in the bubble running after successfully defending the Scotties Tournament of Hearts title in February and capturing the Canadian mixed doubles championship with Brad Gushue last month.

The Humpty’s Champions Cup and Princess Auto Players’ Championship were cancelled last year and the start of this season was delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Complying with government health and safety protocols within the hub city, the Humpty’s Champions Cup and Princess Auto Players’ Championship will feature 12 of the top men’s teams and 12 of the top women’s teams based on the world team rankings. Both men’s and women’s divisions are split into two groups for pool play with the top six teams advancing to the playoffs.

Team Einarson took the 2019 Players’ Championship in Toronto and finished runners-up to Switzerland’s Team Tirinzoni in the 2019 Humpty’s Champions Cup in Saskatoon.

Edmonton’s Team Bottcher enter as the reigning men’s champions for both events and begin their Humpty’s Champions Cup title defence in the first draw taking on Team Schwaller of Switzerland. Also on tap for the opener are Toronto’s Team Epping vs. Team Gunnlaugson of Morris, Man., and Calgary’s Team Koe vs. Team Edin of Sweden.

Team Jacobs of Sault Ste. Marie, Ont., and Sweden’s Team Hasselborg won their third consecutive Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling titles at the Meridian Canadian Open in January 2020 before play was halted and will look to pick up where they left off in the series. Team Hasselborg begin competition against Scotland’s Team Muirhead in Draw 2. Team Jacobs start against Winnipeg’s Team McEwen in Draw 3. Reigning Humpty’s Champions Cup women’s champions Team Tirinzoni also get their run underway in Draw 3 against Winnipeg’s Team Jones.

WinSport’s Canada Olympic Park has hosted the Humpty’s Champions Cup twice in the past. Jacobs captured the men’s title in 2017 with Gushue victorious in 2018 while Homan claimed both women’s titles.

Both events are closed to the general public. A grand total purse of $560,000 CAD is on the line.

Broadcast coverage for the Humpty’s Champions Cup begins April 15 at 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT on Sportsnet with online streaming available at Sportsnet NOW (Canada) and Yare (international).

Humpty’s Champions Cup

Thursday, April 15

Draw 1, 8 a.m. MT: Einarson vs. Homan, Epping vs. Gunnlaugson, Bottcher vs. Schwaller, Edin vs. Koe

Draw 2, 12 p.m. MT: Hasselborg vs. Muirhead, Fleury vs. Kim, Mouat vs. De Cruz, Gushue vs. Dunstone

Draw 3, 4 p.m. MT: Jacobs vs. McEwen, Fujisawa vs. Kovaleva, Stern vs. Homan, Jones vs. Tirinzoni

Draw 4, 8 p.m. MT: Epping vs. Bottcher, Schwaller vs. Koe, Edin vs. Gunnlaugson, Einarson vs. Peterson

Friday, April 16

Draw 5, 8 a.m. MT: Fleury vs. Jones, Tirinzoni vs. Muirhead, Hasselborg vs. Kim, Mouat vs. McEwen

Draw 6, Noon MT: Homan vs. Kovaleva, Stern vs. Peterson, Einarson vs. Fujisawa, Schwaller vs. Gunnlaugson

Draw 7, 4 p.m. MT: Mouat vs. Dunstone, McEwen vs. De Cruz, Jacobs vs. Gushue, Bottcher vs. Koe

Draw 8, 8 p.m. MT: Tirinzoni vs. Kim, Epping vs. Edin, Jones vs. Muirhead, Hasselborg vs. Fleury

Saturday, April 17

Draw 9, 8 a.m. MT: Gushue vs. De Cruz, Jacobs vs. Dunstone, Stern vs. Kovaleva, Fujisawa vs. Peterson

Draw 10, Noon MT: Fleury vs. Muirhead, Hasselborg vs. Tirinzoni, Epping vs. Koe, Bottcher vs. Gunnlaugson

Draw 11, 4 p.m. MT: Fujisawa vs. Stern, Einarson vs. Kovaleva, Homan vs. Peterson, Jones vs. Kim

Draw 12, 8 p.m. MT: Schwaller vs. Edin, Gushue vs. Mouat, McEwen vs. Dunstone, Jacobs vs. De Cruz

Sunday, April 18

Draw 13, Noon MT: Tiebreakers (if necessary)

Draw 14, 4 p.m. MT: Men’s and women’s quarterfinals

Draw 15, 8 p.m. MT: Men’s and women’s semifinals

Monday, April 19

Draw 16, Noon MT: Men’s final

Draw 17, 4 p.m. MT: Women’s final

Princess Auto Players’ Championship

Tuesday, April 20

Draw 1, Noon MT: Edin vs. De Cruz, Fleury vs. Kim, Jacobs vs. Gunnlaugson, Homan vs. Kovaleva

Draw 2, 4 p.m. MT: Gushue vs. McEwen, Stern vs. Tirinzoni, Jones vs. Muirhead, Bottcher vs. Mouat

Draw 3, 8 p.m. MT: Einarson vs. Peterson, Hasselborg vs. Fujisawa, Epping vs. Schwaller, Koe vs. Dunstone

Wednesday, April 21

Draw 4, 8 a.m. MT: Bottcher vs. Gunnlaugson, Mouat vs. Edin, Fleury vs. Stern, Jacobs vs. De Cruz

Draw 5, Noon MT: Fujisawa vs. Muirhead, Jones vs. Kovaleva, Peterson vs. Kim, Hasselborg vs. Homan

Draw 6, 4 p.m. MT: Schwaller vs. Koe, Epping vs. Gushue, McEwen vs. Dunstone, Fleury vs. Tirinzoni

Draw 7, 8 p.m. MT: Jacobs vs. Mouat, De Cruz vs. Gunnlaugson, Bottcher vs. Edin, Einarson vs. Stern

Thursday, April 22

Draw 8, 8 a.m. MT: Jones vs. Homan, McEwen vs. Koe, Fujisawa vs. Kovaleva, Hasselborg vs. Muirhead

Draw 9, Noon MT: Stern vs. Kim, Jacobs vs. Edin, Einarson vs. Tirinzoni, Fleury vs. Peterson

Draw 10, 4 p.m. MT: Schwaller vs. McEwen, Gushue vs. Dunstone, Mouat vs. Gunnlaugson, Epping vs. Koe

Draw 11, 8 p.m. MT: Hasselborg vs. Kovaleva, Bottcher vs. De Cruz, Homan vs. Muirhead, Fujisawa vs. Jones

Friday, April 23

Draw 12, 8 a.m. MT: Tirinzoni vs. Peterson, Einarson vs. Kim, Epping vs. Dunstone, Gushue vs. Schwaller

Draw 13, Noon MT: Fujisawa vs. Homan, Muirhead vs. Kovaleva, Jacobs vs. Bottcher, Edin vs. Gunnlaugson

Draw 14, 4 p.m. MT: Einarson vs. Fleury, Stern vs. Peterson, Hasselborg vs. Jones, Tirinzoni vs. Kim

Draw 15, 8 p.m. MT: Mouat vs. De Cruz, Schwaller vs. Dunstone, Gushue vs. Koe, Epping vs. McEwen

Saturday, April 24

Draw 16, Noon MT: Tiebreakers (if necessary)

Draw 17, 4 p.m. MT: Men’s and women’s quarterfinals

Draw 18, 8 p.m. MT: Men’s and women’s semifinals

Sunday, April 25

Draw 19, 9:30 a.m. MT: Women’s final

Draw 20, 2 p.m. MT: Men’s final

Note: Games that are broadcasted are also available online at Sportsnet NOW (Canada) and Yare (international).