News Champions Cup

Humpty’s Champions Cup start moved to Thursday

The Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling announced Monday its season opener has been pushed back a day due to a delay during the world men’s curling championship.

The Humpty’s Champions Cup will now begin Thursday at Calgary’s WinSport Arena and run through to Monday for the men’s and women’s finals. The Princess Auto Players’ Championship has not been affected and will continue to start next Tuesday as planned.

Quick Links
: Humpty’s Champions Cup draw schedule | Princess Auto Players’ Championship draw schedule | Broadcast schedule

Positive COVID-19 tests during the world men’s curling championship Friday resulted in a suspension of competition during the playoffs. Play resumed Sunday after all players and personnel tested negative. Sweden’s Niklas Edin captured a record third consecutive gold medal and fifth world title defeating Scotland’s Bruce Mouat 10-5 in the championship game late Sunday night. Switzerland’s Peter de Cruz edged RCF’s Sergei Gluhkov 6-5 for the bronze medal.

All three medal winners are among the 12-team men’s field for both Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling events. Also in action are Brier champions Team Bottcher of Edmonton, Calgary’s Team Koe, Team Dunstone of Wadena, Sask., Team Gushue of St. John’s, N.L., Team Jacobs of Sault Ste. Marie, Ont., Toronto’s Team Epping, Winnipeg’s Team McEwen, Team Gunnlaugson of Morris, Man., and Team Schwaller of Switzerland.

The 12-team women’s field includes Scotties Tournament of Hearts champions Team Einarson of Gimli, Man., Ottawa’s Team Homan, Winnipeg’s Team Jones, Team Fleury of East St. Paul, Man., Sweden’s Team Hasselborg, Scotland’s Team Muirhead, Switzerland’s Team Tirinzoni, Team Peterson of the United States, Japan’s Team Fujisawa, Team M. Kim of South Korea, RCF’s Team Kovaleva and Team Stern of Switzerland.

Both events are closed to the general public. A grand total purse of $560,000 CAD is on the line.

Broadcast coverage for the Humpty’s Champions Cup begins Thursday at 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT on Sportsnet with online streaming available at Sportsnet NOW (Canada) and Yare (international).

Humpty’s Champions Cup

Thursday, April 15

Draw 1, 8 a.m. MT: Einarson vs. Homan, Epping vs. Gunnlaugson, Bottcher vs. Schwaller, Edin vs. Koe

Draw 2, Noon MT: Hasselborg vs. Muirhead, Fleury vs. Kim, Mouat vs. De Cruz, Gushue vs. Dunstone

Draw 3, 4 p.m. MT: Jacobs vs. McEwen, Fujisawa vs. Kovaleva, Stern vs. Homan, Jones vs. Tirinzoni

Draw 4, 8 p.m. MT: Epping vs. Bottcher, Schwaller vs. Koe, Edin vs. Gunnlaugson, Einarson vs. Peterson

Friday, April 16

Draw 5, 8 a.m. MT: Fleury vs. Jones, Tirinzoni vs. Muirhead, Hasselborg vs. Kim, Mouat vs. McEwen

Draw 6, Noon MT: Homan vs. Kovaleva, Stern vs. Peterson, Einarson vs. Fujisawa, Schwaller vs. Gunnlaugson

Draw 7, 4 p.m. MT: Mouat vs. Dunstone, McEwen vs. De Cruz, Jacobs vs. Gushue, Bottcher vs. Koe

Draw 8, 8 p.m. MT: Tirinzoni vs. Kim, Epping vs. Edin, Jones vs. Muirhead, Hasselborg vs. Fleury

Saturday, April 17

Draw 9, 8 a.m. MT: Gushue vs. De Cruz, Jacobs vs. Dunstone, Stern vs. Kovaleva, Fujisawa vs. Peterson

Draw 10, Noon MT: Fleury vs. Muirhead, Hasselborg vs. Tirinzoni, Epping vs. Koe, Bottcher vs. Gunnlaugson

Draw 11, 4 p.m. MT: Fujisawa vs. Stern, Einarson vs. Kovaleva, Homan vs. Peterson, Jones vs. Kim

Draw 12, 8 p.m. MT: Schwaller vs. Edin, Gushue vs. Mouat, McEwen vs. Dunstone, Jacobs vs. De Cruz

Sunday, April 18

Draw 13, Noon MT: Tiebreakers (if necessary)

Draw 14, 4 p.m. MT: Men’s and women’s quarterfinals

Draw 15, 8 p.m. MT: Men’s and women’s semifinals

Monday, April 19

Draw 16, Noon MT: Men’s final

Draw 17, 4 p.m. MT: Women’s final

Princess Auto Players’ Championship

Tuesday, April 20

Draw 1, Noon MT: Edin vs. De Cruz, Fleury vs. Kim, Jacobs vs. Gunnlaugson, Homan vs. Kovaleva

Draw 2, 4 p.m. MT: Gushue vs. McEwen, Stern vs. Tirinzoni, Jones vs. Muirhead, Bottcher vs. Mouat

Draw 3, 8 p.m. MT: Einarson vs. Peterson, Hasselborg vs. Fujisawa, Epping vs. Schwaller, Koe vs. Dunstone

Wednesday, April 21

Draw 4, 8 a.m. MT: Bottcher vs. Gunnlaugson, Mouat vs. Edin, Fleury vs. Stern, Jacobs vs. De Cruz

Draw 5, Noon MT: Fujisawa vs. Muirhead, Jones vs. Kovaleva, Peterson vs. Kim, Hasselborg vs. Homan

Draw 6, 4 p.m. MT: Schwaller vs. Koe, Epping vs. Gushue, McEwen vs. Dunstone, Fleury vs. Tirinzoni

Draw 7, 8 p.m. MT: Jacobs vs. Mouat, De Cruz vs. Gunnlaugson, Bottcher vs. Edin, Einarson vs. Stern

Thursday, April 22

Draw 8, 8 a.m. MT: Jones vs. Homan, McEwen vs. Koe, Fujisawa vs. Kovaleva, Hasselborg vs. Muirhead

Draw 9, Noon MT: Stern vs. Kim, Jacobs vs. Edin, Einarson vs. Tirinzoni, Fleury vs. Peterson

Draw 10, 4 p.m. MT: Schwaller vs. McEwen, Gushue vs. Dunstone, Mouat vs. Gunnlaugson, Epping vs. Koe

Draw 11, 8 p.m. MT: Hasselborg vs. Kovaleva, Bottcher vs. De Cruz, Homan vs. Muirhead, Fujisawa vs. Jones

Friday, April 23

Draw 12, 8 a.m. MT: Tirinzoni vs. Peterson, Einarson vs. Kim, Epping vs. Dunstone, Gushue vs. Schwaller

Draw 13, Noon MT: Fujisawa vs. Homan, Muirhead vs. Kovaleva, Jacobs vs. Bottcher, Edin vs. Gunnlaugson

Draw 14, 4 p.m. MT: Einarson vs. Fleury, Stern vs. Peterson, Hasselborg vs. Jones, Tirinzoni vs. Kim

Draw 15, 8 p.m. MT: Mouat vs. De Cruz, Schwaller vs. Dunstone, Gushue vs. Koe, Epping vs. McEwen

Saturday, April 24

Draw 16, Noon MT: Tiebreakers (if necessary)

Draw 17, 4 p.m. MT: Men’s and women’s quarterfinals

Draw 18, 8 p.m. MT: Men’s and women’s semifinals

Sunday, April 25

Draw 19, 9:30 a.m. MT: Women’s final

Draw 20, 2 p.m. MT: Men’s final

Note: Schedule subject to change.