News General News

Curling team changes for 2021-22 season

It’s never too early to start thinking about next year!

Some teams have already made changes for the fall. Keep it here for the latest announcements.

Team Rylan Kleiter (SK)

Rylan KleiterJosh MatternTrevor JohnsonMatthieu TaillonSteve Laycock

July 9: Laycock returns to his home province to join Team Kleiter as their fifth. The seven-time Saskatchewan champion Laycock played with Jim Cotter’s club in B.C. during the past three seasons. (Source: Instagram)

Team Chelsea Carey (SK)

Chelsea CareyJolene CampbellStephanie SchmidtJennifer ArmstrongRachel Erickson

May 19: Two-time Canadian women’s champion Carey has found a new team in Saskatchewan joining Campbell’s crew. (Source: Twitter)

Team Pat Simmons (MB)

Pat SimmonsColton LottKyle DoeringTanner LottEmerson Klimpke

May 4: Simmons reunites with Doering and Colton Lott after making a run to the pre-trials in 2017. Doering and the Lott brothers previously played with skip Tanner Horgan (see below) and reached the final of the 2019 KIOTI Tractor Tour Challenge Tier 2. Colton Lott recently received silver in the Canadian mixed doubles championship with fiancée Kadriana Sahaidak and filled in for third Ryan Fry on John Epping’s team during the two Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling events in the Calgary bubble.

Full story: Pat Simmons coming out of retirement to skip Manitoba-based team

Team Kristy McDonald (MB)

Kristy McDonaldLisa BlixhavnLeslie WilsonRaunora WestcottLindsay Warkentin

April 25: McDonald returns to competitive curling and reunites with Wilson and Westcott. After McDonald stepped back, the front-end pair (along with third Kate Cameron) joined Michelle Englot and earned silver for Manitoba at the 2017 Scotties Tournament of Hearts. They competed in the event as Team Canada the following year as defending champions Team Homan were away at the Winter Olympic Games. (Source: Twitter)

Team Beuk/Horgan (ON)

Tanner HorganJonathan BeukWes ForgetScott ChadwickJacob Horgan

April 16: The Horgan brothers from Sudbury have joined forces with Kingston-based Beuk, Forget and Chadwick. The trio captured the 2019 Ontario Tankard with skip Scott McDonald and finished runners-up to Team Muyres in the 2018 Tour Challenge Tier 2. Tanner Horgan has also finished runner-up in the Tour Challenge Tier 2 event, in 2019 falling to Team Dropkin, skipping out of Manitoba with Colton Lott, Kyle Doering and Tanner Lott. No positions have been named yet. (Source: Twitter)

Team K. Jones (MB)

Kaitlyn JonesRobyn NjegovanAbby AcklandSara Oliver

March 15: Another Team Jones in Manitoba? The 2018 world junior champion Jones returns to the province where she was born joining up with the former Team Ackland. Jones skipped her junior squad in the 2018 Masters in Truro, N.S., as the sponsor’s exemption and scored upset wins over Team Tirinzoni, Team Einarson and Team Homan to reach the quarterfinals. (Source: Twitter)