News Players' Championship

Rogers Grand Slam Cup chase wraps up at Players’ Championship

The race to capture the Rogers Grand Slam Cup will come down to the wire at the final major of the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season.

Following the conclusion of the WestJet Players’ Championship — running April 11-16 at Ryerson’s Mattamy Athletic Centre — the series will award the Rogers Grand Slam Cup to the overall season champions.

The top four teams in the standings receive bonuses with the winners cashing in big time taking home $75,000.

It’s a tight race in both men’s and women’s divisions. WFG Masters and Tour Challenge winner Niklas Edin holding a slim lead in the standings over Boost National victor Brad Jacobs on the men’s side. Not far behind are Meridian Canadian Open champ Brad Gushue and Princess Auto Elite 10 titlist John Morris.

Meanwhile, a steady season has Silvana Tirinzoni in first place on the women’s side followed closely by WFG Masters champ Allison Flaxey and Tour Challenge winner Val Sweeting. However, with roughly double points are on the line at the WestJet Players’ Championship — the winner earns 25 points — almost every women’s team is still in it to win it.

Gushue claimed both the Players’ Championship and Rogers Grand Slam Cup titles last season. Meanwhile, Rachel Homan needed just two round-robin wins at the Players’ Championship to clinch the women’s Rogers Grand Slam Cup title a year ago thanks to a banner season winning three consecutive majors.


Men’s Teams Points Women’s Teams Points
Niklas Edin 41 Silvana Tirinzoni 27
Brad Jacobs 39 Allison Flaxey 25
Brad Gushue 33 Val Sweeting 24
John Morris 30 Anna Hasselborg 23
Reid Carruthers 29 Rachel Homan 21
Steve Laycock 18 Jennifer Jones 17

Click here for the full standings.


Finish Points
Champion 25
Runner-up 19
Semifinalists 15
Quarterfinalists 11

Note: 2 points per win for non-playoff teams.