News General News

Mike McEwen’s team parting ways after season

The band is breaking up.

Winnipeg’s Team McEwen announced Tuesday they’ll be parting ways after 11 years together.

The club will finish out this season with three Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling tournaments remaining on the schedule.

Skip Mike McEwen, third B.J. Neufeld, second Matt Wozniak and lead Denni Neufeld were among the top tour teams during their lengthy tenure capturing six Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling titles together.

McEwen fell in the provincial final five times before winning the Manitoba championship in 2016 and the team finished fourth in their first Tim Hortons Brier. They successfully defended the Viterra Championship in 2017 to represent Manitoba at the Canadian men’s curling tournament again and finished on the podium earning bronze.

Team McEwen came within one win of playing for Canada at the Winter Olympics falling to Team Kevin Koe in December’s Roar of the Rings final. McEwen missed most of the provincial playdowns this year due to chickenpox and returned from the hospital in time for the final against Team Reid Carruthers. It came down to the last shot of the game but Carruthers edged out McEwen for the Viterra Championship.

McEwen managed to make it into the Brier regardless escaping with a steal over fellow Winnipeg club Team Jason Gunnlaugson in the wildcard game. Team McEwen finished fifth overall, just outside the Page playoff picture, with a 7-4 round-robin record.

The McEwen crew will compete in the Princess Auto Elite 10 in their hometown starting Thursday at St. James Civic Centre.