News Champions Cup

Gushue gets in Humpty’s Champions Cup with Brier win

UPDATE: Sportsnet and the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling have cancelled the 2020 Humpty’s Champions Cup.

Better late than never, Brad Gushue has secured a spot in the Humpty’s Champions Cup.

Teams must win a high-profile tournament in order to qualify for the season-ending Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling event — taking place April 29 to May 3 at the Olds Sportsplex in Olds, Alta. — and the Tim Hortons Brier was Gushue’s last opportunity.

Easier said than done, of course, but mission accomplished. Gushue and his St. John’s, N.L., crew captured their third Canadian men’s curling championship in four years after defeating Brendan Bottcher’s Edmonton-based team 7-3 during Sunday’s final in Kingston, Ont.

The foursome of Gushue, third Mark Nichols, second Brett Gallant and lead Geoff Walker made history at the Humpty’s Champions Cup in 2018 when they became the first (and so far only) team to win all events in the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling.

Some familiar faces from the Brier have already booked their places to the Humpty’s Champions Cup including defending champion Bottcher, reigning Pinty’s Cup champion Kevin Koe of Calgary, Masters winner Matt Dunstone of Regina, Canada Cup victor John Epping of Toronto and Brad Jacobs of Sault Ste. Marie, Ont., who has claimed the past three Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling men’s titles.

Only the world championships remain to complete the field featuring 12 men’s teams and 12 women’s teams. Should a team that has already qualified also be victorious at the worlds, the winner of the next-ranked World Curling Tour event (based on strength of field) will receive the final invitation.

Full-event passes for the Humpty’s Champions Cup are now available, visit for more information.

Broadcast coverage will be available only on Sportsnet with online streaming at Sportsnet NOW (Canada) and Yare (international). 

2020 Humpty’s Champions Cup field

Men’s DivisionWomen’s Division
2019 Players’ Championship
Brendan Bottcher
2019 Players’ Championship
Kerri Einarson
*2018-19 Pinty’s Cup
Kevin Koe
2019 Humpty’s Champions Cup
Silvana Tirinzoni
2019 Masters
Matt Dunstone
2019 Masters
Tracy Fleury
2019 KIOTI Tractor Tour Challenge (Tier 1)
Brad Jacobs
2019 KIOTI Tractor Tour Challenge (Tier 1)
Anna Hasselborg
2019 European Championships
Niklas Edin
2019 Pacific-Asia Championships
Yu Han
2019 Pacific-Asia Championships
Chang-Min Kim
** 2019 AMJ Campbell Shorty Jenkins Classic
Jennifer Jones
**2019 Canada Cup
John Epping
**2019 Canada Cup
Rachel Homan
**2020 Perth Masters
Bruce Mouat
**2019 Canad Inns Women’s Classic
Elena Stern
2020 USA Curling National Championships
John Shuster
2020 USA Curling National Championships
Tabitha Peterson
2020 World Junior Championships
Jacques Gauthier
2020 World Junior Championships
Mackenzie Zacharias
2020 Tim Hortons Brier
Brad Gushue
**2019 CAMERON’S Brewing Oakville Fall Classic
Eve Muirhead
2020 World Championship
2020 World Championship

* Due to a repeat winner of the 2019 Players’ Championship and 2019 Humpty’s Champions Cup, the Pinty’s Cup champion received an invitation.

** Due to repeat winners of eligible events, winners of top tour events (based on strength of field) received invitations.