News General News

24 teams in 24 days — Day 5: Team Koe

We’re profiling all 24 teams, one per day, to get ready for the return of the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling leading up to the start of the Humpty’s Champions Cup.

Day 5: Team Koe

Lineup: Kevin Koe (skip), B.J. Neufeld (third), John Morris (second), Ben Hebert (lead)

Home club: The Glencoe Club; Calgary

Koe has captured five men’s titles in the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling including four as a skip. His first came while playing third for Morris at the 2004 Players’ Championship. Their roles are now somewhat reversed with the 11-time GSOC title winner Morris joining Team Koe this season at second and handling vice skip duties.

The retooled Team Koe played in four tour events in the fall with second-place results in the ATB Banff Classic and ATB Okotoks Classic. They competed as Wild Card Two in the Brier earlier this month and took home silver medals after falling to provincial rivals Team Bottcher 4-2 in the final.

Koe’s most recent event win in the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling came at the 2018 Players’ Championship although his team had a stellar 2018-19 campaign clinching the Pinty’s Cup as the overall season champions.

Koe is a two-time finalist in the Humpty’s Champions Cup finishing runner-up to Team Jacobs in 2017 and Team Bottcher in 2019.

The Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling returns with the Humpty’s Champions Cup, April 14-18, followed by the Princess Auto Players’ Championship, April 20-25. Both events will be played at Calgary’s WinSport Arena and closed to the general public. Watch live coverage on Sportsnet, stay tuned for the broadcast schedule.